4th Bimstec Summit


  • The Sub – regional Organisation known as Bay of Bengal initiative for Multi – Sectoral and Technical and Economic cooperation (BIMSTEC) come into existence in June 1997 Through the Bangkok Declaration.

The Member Countries are

  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • Nepal
  • India
  • Sri Lanka
  • Myanmar
  • Thailand
  • The First Summit was held at Bangkok, Thailand
  • The Second Summit was held at New Delhi, India
  • The Third Summit was held at Nay pi Daw, Myanmar


  • After the Failure of SAARC due to deliberate attempt by Pakistan, BIMSTEC provides a platform for regional stability and socio- economic cooperation.
  • Taking this opportunity India Carries the message forward that India does not want to dominate the region rather carry everyone with it.
  • It Provides a platform to counter issues and an extension to the bilateral relation with India and member countries.
  • Various issues ranging from Terrorism, Drug Trafficking, Human Trafficking, which are cross – border in nature can be addressed.
  • Our success in ‘Look east’ and ‘Neighbourhood first’ depends upon the success of this regional organisation.
Share Socially