ASI Declared 6 Monuments of National Importance In 2018

Prelims level : Indian Culture Mains level : GS 1: Art and Culture
No Set Found with this ID


  • A total of six monuments are declared by ASI to be of national importance.


  • The six monuments are:
    • 125-year-old Old High Court Building in Nagpur, Maharashtra
    • Haveli of Agha Khan, Mughal era monument in Agra
    • Haveli of Hathi Khana, Mughal era monument in Agra
    • Neemrana Baori in Rajasthan’s Alwar district
  • Group of Temples at Ranipur Jharail in Odisha’s Bolangir
  • Vishnu Temple in Kotali, Pithoragarh district, Uttarkhand
  • In 2016 and 2017, no new monument was included in the list of sites of national importance. The last monument to be included in the list, in 2015, was the Vishnu Temple in Nadavayal in Kerala’s Wayanad district.
  • According to the Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains Act, 1958, an “Ancient Monument means any structure, erection or monument, or any tumulus or place of interment, or any cave, rock-sculpture, inscription or monolith which is of historical, archaeological or artistic interest and which has been in existence for not less than 100 years.” There were 3,686 centrally protected monuments/sites under the ASI in the country; the number has now increased to 3,693. Uttar Pradesh (745 monuments/sites), Karnataka (506) and Tamil Nadu (413) have the highest number of ASI-maintained sites.

About Archaeological Survey of India:

  • It is an Indian government agency attached to the Ministry of Culture that is responsible for archaeological research and the conservation and preservation of cultural monuments in the country.
  • Founded in 1861 by Alexander Cunningham who also became its first Director-General.
  • It regulates all archaeological activities as per the provisions of the Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains Act, 1958.
  • It also regulates Antiquities and Art Treasure Act, 1972.
Share Socially