Cyril Ramaphosa sworn in as South Africa’s president

Prelims level : Mains level :
No Set Found with this ID
  • Cyril Ramaphosa was sworn in for a five-year term as South Africa’s President yesterday. Head of the African National Congress Ramaphosa was officially elected as President by Parliament during its first sitting following the sixth general elections.
  • Former president Jacob Zuma, resigned in February last year amid allegations of corruption. Ramaphosa is expected to announce his new Cabinet today.
  • The South Africa Constitution requires voters to choose a party, which then selects members to go to the National Assembly, where they choose the President
Share Socially