Govt. Grants Divisional Status To Ladakh

Why in News?

  • Jammu and Kashmir Governor has granted Ladakh a divisional status, thus creating three administrative units of Jammu, Kashmir and Ladakh in the State.

The Ladakh Division:

  • The J&K government has approved the creation of a separate administrative and revenue division for Ladakh.
  • It will comprise Leh and Kargil districts, with headquarters at Leh.
  • Earlier, Ladakh was a part of the Kashmir division.
  • Ladakh will now get its own Divisional Commissioner and Inspector General of Police.
  • Ladakh’s Kargil and Leh districts already have separate hill development councils for local administrative powers.
  • The move leaves the Kashmir valley geographically the smallest division at 15,948 sq. km, Jammu division at 26,293 sq. km and Ladakh, the biggest division, at 86,909 sq. km.
  • The remoteness and inaccessibility of the area makes it eligible for establishing a separate division.
  • During the winter months, the entire Ladakh region remains cut-off from the rest of the country for almost six months.
  • A section in Leh also has been demanding Union Territory status.
Share Socially