India and the un to sign a five-year sustainable development framework (2018-2022)

Why in News?

  • NITI Aayog and United Nations are set to sign the Government of India-United Nations Sustainable Development Framework (UNSDF) for 2018-2022.

India-UNSDF (2018-2022):

  • The Framework outlines the work of UN agencies in India, to support the achievement of key development outcomes that are aligned to the national priorities.
  • The NITI Aayog is the national counterpart for the UN in India for the operationalization of the UNSDF.
  •  Nineteen (19) UN agencies have signed on the UNSDF 2018-2022.

United Nations Sustainable Development Framework:

  • The UNSDF 2018-22 comprises of seven priority areas that outline the work that UN agencies will undertake jointly or individually, fully aligned with the priorities of the GoI.
  • The seven priority areas outlined in the UNSDF are:
  • Poverty and Urbanization;
  • Health, Water, and Sanitation;
  • Education and Employability;
  • Nutrition and Food Security;
  • Climate Change, Clean Energy, and Disaster Resilience;
  •  Skilling, Entrepreneurship, and Job Creation;
  •  Gender Equality and Youth Development.
Share Socially