Police Modernisation Scheme

Why in News?

  • The Union Government has Approved the Continuation of a police modernisation scheme for five years up to 2025-26 with a financial outlay of ₹26,275 crore.

What is the Modernization of Police Forces Scheme?

  • Police’ and ‘law and order’ fall under the category of subjects within the domain of the State as per Entry 2 of List II of the VIIth Schedule in the Constitution of India.
  • Thus, the principal responsibility for managing these subjects lies with the State Governments.
  • However, the States have not been able to fully modernize and equip their police forces upto the desired level due to financial constraints.
  • It is in this context that the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) has been supplementing the efforts and resources of the States, from time to time, by implementing the MPF Scheme since 1969-70.


  • The focus of the scheme is to strengthen police infrastructure at cutting edge level by construction of secure police stations, training centres, police housing (residential), Equipping the Police Stations with the required mobility, modern weaponry, Communication Equipment and Forensic set-up etc.

Components of the Scheme:

  • The scheme included security-related expenditure in J&K, northeastern States and Maoist- affected areas, for raising new battalions, developing high-tech forensic laboratories and other investigation tools.
  • Provisions has been made under the scheme for internal security, law and order and adoption of modern technology by the police.
  • Assistance will be given to the States for narcotics control and strengthening the criminal justice system by developing a robust forensic set-up in the country.

Funding Pattern:

  • Under the Scheme, the States are grouped into two categories, namely Category ‘A’ and Category ‘B’ for the purpose of funding both under ‘Non-Plan’ and Plan.
  • Category ‘A’ States, namely, J&K and 8 North Eastern States including Sikkim will be Eligible to receive Financial Assistance on 90:10 Centre: State Sharing Basis.
  • The remaining States will be in Category ‘B’ and will be eligible for financial assistance on 60:40 Centre: State sharing basis.
Share Socially