How Pradhan Mantri Adarsh Gram Yojana (PMAGY) is a vision for the empowerment of needy sections? And also explain their objectives.

Structure of the answer:

  • Introduction (About scheme).
  • Objectives of the scheme.
  • Who are the beneficiaries?
  • What is EWS, LIG and MIG?
  • What are the key domains to be focused?
  • Methods of implementation.

Key points:

  • What? Pradhan Mantri Adarsh Gram Yojana (PMAGY), a Government of India initiative for the empowerment of deprived sections, aims to achieve integrated development of selected villages through convergent implementation of all relevant Central and State schemes.
  • Eligibility: under CLSS (MIG-I) Scheme. You must not own a pucca house either in his/her name or in the name of any member of his/her family in any part of India. You must not have availed any central/state assistance under any housing scheme from Government of India
  • How does it work? The government has set a target of one crores houses in urban areas under the PMAY, launched by prime minister Narendra Modi.
  • It aims to provide ‘Housing for All’ by 2022, by providing financial assistance to beneficiaries.


  • The Indian government will provide an interest subsidy of 6.5% on housing loans availed by the beneficiaries for a period of 15 years from the commencement of their loan tenure.
  • This scheme can well be termed as a Pro-women scheme due to its preference over to the female applicants in the family.
  • During the allocation of houses under the scheme of PMAY, the preference in allocating the ground floors will be given to the senior citizens and to the differently-abled.
  • All the houses built under PMYA scheme would be carried out through technology and will have eco-friendly compliance.
Share Socially