Quad Countries

Prelims level : International Relations Mains level :
No Set Found with this ID

Why in news?

A list of 20 policy recommendations for the Quad countries by the think tanks were released.

QUAD Grouping:

  • The grouping of four democracies – India, Australia, US and Japan– known as the quadrilateral security dialogue or quad, was first mooted by Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe in 2007. It has been recently revived.
  • Even so, it was not an anti-China coalition as all four members have extensive economic ties with the country. They were all committed to a policy of constructive engagement, not containment, of this emergent East Asian power.
  • The Quad could be, therefore, seen as a coalition of maritime democracies seeking to strengthen each other on the basis of shared values and interests. However, its formation indirectly isolated China as a non-democratic power and eroded its diplomatic standing in international gatherings.
  • The four countries already did exercise together along with Singapore as part of Exercise MALABAR – which initially began as a bilateral naval exercise between the United States and India – back in 2007. Then Japan participated and was made a permanent member of the Malabar exercises

Some of the key recommendations of the report:

  • The policy recommendations of the quad include recommendations from diplomacy, security, economy, environment and humanitarian securities.
  • Australia, India, Japan and the U.S. should cooperate with the aim of supporting a “Free and Open Indo-Pacific Region” which recognizes the central and growing importance of the Indian Ocean.
  • Quad should work with other partners to oppose the establishment of permanent Chinese military bases in the Indian Ocean region.
  • Quad should work with the countries in the Indian Ocean region to help them maintain independent security and economic policies by supporting high-quality alternatives to unilateral Chinese investments and political alignment with Chinese regional objectives.
  • While discouraging a unilateral military role by China, Australia, India, Japan and the U.S. should involve China in diplomatic efforts to ensure the safety of navigation in critical energy routes, including those in the Persian Gulf
  • Japan and the U.S. should consider participation in the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank, to encourage high standards by projects involving China and to build further their economic cooperation with others, including Australia and India.
  • Quad should collectively encourage user states and coastal states to formulate appropriate policies and provide technical assistance for the “blue economy” and green development.
  • Quad should work with others to further support capacity building for maritime law enforcement in coastal states around the Indian Ocean.
  • In order to build stronger Quadrilateral maritime defence capability in the Indian Ocean, India and the U.S. should invite Australia to participate in the Malabar naval exercises. The four nations should also consider inviting other countries that share maritime interests in this cooperative https://aviator-game-india.in.
Share Socially