VP Sivakolundhu elected as Puducherry Assembly Speaker

Prelims level : Mains level :
No Set Found with this ID


  • Deputy Speaker VP Sivakolundhu was elected as the new Speaker of the Puducherry Assembly.
  • The post fell vacant after Congress’ V Vaithilingam stepped down on March 21 to contest the Lok Sabha election from the lone Union Territory seat of Puducherry, which he won with a margin of 1,96,802 votes against his nearest rival K Narayanasamy of All India NR Congress.
  • The Congress leader, Sivakolundhu, was the sole contender for the Speaker’s post.
Share Socially