

## **1.** Zonal Councils

## Prelims: Polity & Governance

**Mains: GS-II-** Functions and responsibilities of the Union and the States, issues and challenges pertaining to the federal structure, devolution of powers and finances up to local levels and challenges therein.

## Why in News?

▶ The 29th meeting of the Northern Zonal Council will be held on 20th September at Chandigarh.

## **Zonal Councils:**

- >> Zonal Councils are statutory bodies established under the States Reorganisation Act 1956.
- ▶ They are advisory bodies and were established to promote interstate cooperation and coordination.
- ▶ There are five zonal councils in India, as follows:
  - Northern Zonal Council: Chandigarh, Delhi, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, and Rajasthan
  - Central Zonal Council: Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh
  - Eastern Zonal Council: Bihar, Jharkhand, Odisha, and West Bengal
  - Southern Zonal Council: Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu, and Telangana
    GATEWAYY
  - Western Zonal Council: Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Goa, Gujarat, and Maharashtra
  - Andaman and Nicobar Islands, as well as Lakshadweep, are not members but are special invitees to the Southern Zonal Council.
- ➤ The north-eastern states are not members of any of the above councils. Their problems are addressed by another statutory body, the North Eastern Council, created by the North Eastern Council Act, 1971.